This table links to your wedding rules associated with the states and tries to summarize a number of their points that are salient. Those thinking about the wedding legislation of the jurisdiction that is particular review its legislation straight as opposed to count on this summary which might never be completely accurate or complete.
Related LII materials include:
|State||typical Law Marriage||chronilogical age of permission to marry||Medical exams||Marriage permit|
|Age with parental permission||Age without parental permission||Max. duration between exam and license||range of medical exam||Waiting period before license||Duration of permit credibility (expiration)|
|Alabama- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a, b||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Alaska- Title 25, Chapter 5||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d||a few months|
|Arizona- Chapter 1, Article 1||No||16 c (2)||18||–||–||–||1 12 months|
|Arkansas- Title 9, Subtitle 2, § 11||No||18||–||–||f||–|
|California- Family Code, §§ 300-500||No||b, g||18||thirty days, d, h||–||–||3 months|
|Colorado- §§ 14-2-105 thru 14-2-110||Yes||16 c||18||–||–||–||thirty days|
|Connecticut- Title 46b, § 815e||No||16 c (2)||18||–||i||4 days, d||65 days|
|Delaware- Title 13, Chapter 1||No||18||–||–||twenty four hours, j||1 month|
|Florida- Title 43, Chapter 741||No||16 a, ag ag ag e||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Georgia- §§ 19-3-1 thru 19-3-68||No gg||16 ag e, k||18||–||i||3 times, l||thirty day period|
|Hawaii- § 572||No||15 k||18||–||–||—-||thirty days|
|Idaho- § 32-301 thru 32-501||No gg||16 c||18||–||m, n||–||–|
|Illinois- Chapter 750, CS 5, Part II||No||16 o||18||–||p||one day||60 times|
|Indiana- Title 31, Article 11||No gg||17 ag ag e||18||–||q||–||60 times|
|Iowa- Chapter 595||Yes||16 k||18||–||–||3 times||–|
|Kansas- Chapter 23, Article 1||Yes||16 c (2)||18||–||–||3 times, d||half a year|
|Kentucky- Chapter 402||No||18 k||18||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Louisiana- Title IV, Chapter 1 (Civil Code 86)||No||18 c||18||10 times||–||–||–|
|Maine- Title 19, Chapter 23||No||16 c||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|Maryland- §§ 2-201 thru 2-503||No||16 e, r||18||–||–||48 hours, d||half a year|
|Massachusetts- Title III, Chapter 207||No||Male-14 k Female-12 k||18||3-60 days, s||–||3 times, f||60 times|
|Michigan- Chapter 551||No||16||18||–||–||3 times, d||33 days after application|
|Minnesota- Chapter 517||No||16 k||18||–||–||5 days, d||six months|
|Mississippi- Title 93, Chapter 1||No||g, k||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Missouri- Chapter 451||No||15 u||18||–||–||–||1 month|
|Montana- Title 40, Chapter 1||Yes||16 k||18||–||t||–||180 times|
|Nebraska- Chapter 42||No||17||19||–||i||–||12 months|
|Nevada- Title 11, Chapter 122||No||16 c||18||–||–||–||12 months|
|brand brand New Hampshire- Title 43, Chapter 457||No||Male- 14 v Female- 13 v||18||–||–||3 times, d, f||3 months|
|New Jersey- Title 37||No||16 c, e||18||–||–||72 hours, d||30 times|
|brand brand brand New Mexico- Chapter 40, Article 1||No||16 ag ag e, u||18||30 times||t||–||–|
|brand brand brand New York- Domestic Relations (Chapter 14), Articles 1 and 2||No||16 v||18||–||w||24 hours||60 times|
|new york- Chapter 51||No||16 e||18||–||–||–||–|
|North Dakota- Chapter 14-03||No||16||18||–||–||–||60 times|
|Ohio- Title 31, Chapter 3101||No gg||Male-18 k Female-16 c, ag ag e||18||–||–||5 times, d, x||60 times|
|Oklahoma- 43-3||No gg||16 c, e||18||1 month, d||t||y||30 times|
|Oregon- Title 11-106||No||17 z||18||–||–||3 days, d||60 days|
|Pennsylvania- Title 23, Part 1||No gg||16 u||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||60 days|
|Rhode Island- Title 15, Chapters 15-1 thru 15-3||Yes||18||–||aa||–||a couple of months|
|sc- Title 20, Chapter 1||Yes||16 e||18||–||–||one day||–|
|South Dakota- Title 25, Chapters 1 and 2||No||16 ag ag e||18||–||–||–||20 times|
|Tennessee- Title 36, Chapter 3||No||16 u||18||–||–||3 times, d, bb||30 days|
|Texas- Title 1, Subtitles the and B||Yes||16 k, v||18||–||–||cc||thirty days|
|Utah- Title 30, Chapter 1||Yes||16 a||18 dd||–||–||–||thirty day period|
|Vermont- Title 15, Chapter 1||No||16 k||18||1 month, d||t||one day, d||–|
|Virginia- Title 20, Chapter 2||No||16 a, e||18||–||ee||–||60 times|
|Washington- Title 26, Chapter 4||No||17 u||18||–||ff||3 times||60 times|
|western Virginia- Chapter 48, Article 1||No||18 ag ag e||18||–||t||3 days, d||–|
|Wisconsin- Chapter 765 thru 767||No||16||18||–||letter||5 times, d||30 days|
|Wyoming- Title 20, Chapter 1||No||16 u||18||–||i||–||–|
|District of Columbia- Division VIII, Title 46, Subtitle 1, Chapter 4||Yes||16 a||18||1 month||t||3 times, d||–|
|Puerto Rico||No||Male-18 c, e, u Female-16 c, ag ag e, u||Male- 21 Female- 21 ag ag e||–||t||–||–|
Indicates that the authors of this table were unable to locate any given information about this issue
- (a) Parental permission maybe maybe maybe not needed if small was once hitched.
- (b) Other statutory demands apply.
- (c) more youthful parties may marry with parental permission.
- (c) (2) Younger parties may marry with parental and judicial permission.
- (d) Waiting period can be prevented
- ( ag ag ag e) Younger parties may get permit in case there is maternity or delivery of son or daughter.
- (f) Parties must register notice of intention to marry with neighborhood clerk.
- (g) No age restrictions
- (h) whenever unmarried guy and unmarried girl, perhaps not minors, have now been living together as guy and spouse, they could, without wellness certification, be hitched upon issuance of appropriate authorization.
- (i) Venereal illness and rubella (for feminine)
- (j) Residents, before termination of 24 hour waiting duration; non-residents, before expiration of 96 hour period that is waiting.
- (k) Parental consent and/or permission of judge needed.
- (l) Unless events are 18 several years of age or higher, or feminine is expecting, or candidates would be the moms and dads of the residing child created away from wedlock.
- (m) Rubella for female; there are specific exceptions, and region judge may waive examination that is medical proof that crisis exists.
- (letter) Applicants must get information about AIDS and certify having see clearly.
- (o) Judicial permission might be provided whenever moms and dads will not consent.
- (p) Venereal conditions; test for sickle mobile anemia provided at demand of examining physician.
- (q) Any female that is unsterilized 50 must submit with application for permit a medical report saying whether she had immunological reaction to rubella, or perhaps a written record that the rubella vaccine had been administered on or after her very first birthday celebration. Judge may by purchase dispense with one of these demands.
- (r) If events are in minimum 16 years old, proof age and permission of events in individual are expected. In case a parent is sick an affidavit because of the parent that is incapacitated a doctor’s affidavit needed.
- (s) Doctor’s certification should be filed thirty days prior to see of intention.
- (t) Venereal diseases. In WV and okay, Circuit court judge might waive requirement
- (u) Younger parties may get permit in unique circumstances.
- (v) Below chronilogical age of permission parties need parental permission and authorization of judge, no more youthful than 14 for men and 13 for females.
- (w) Tests for sickle mobile are required.
- (x) candidates under age 18 must suggest that they will have had wedding guidance.
- (y) If one or both events are underneath the age for wedding without parental permission, three time period that is waiting.
- (z) If a celebration does not have any parent living within state, and another celebration has residence in state for 6 months, no authorization needed.
- (aa) Physical assessment and bloodstream test needed; offer of HIV counseling required.
- (bb) Unless parties are over 18 years old.
- (cc) 72 hour waiting duration after issuance of permit.
- (dd) Authorizes counties to present for premarital guidance as a prerequisite to issuance of permit to people under 18 and people formerly divorced.
- (ee) needed offer of HIV test, and/or must certanly be supplied with all about AIDS and tests available.
- (ff) No exam needed, but events must register affidavit of non-affiliction with contagious disease that is venereal.
- (gg) No common-law marriage may be entered into, however these states recognize typical law marriages that have been entered into before these times:
- Georgia- joined into just before 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Idaho- joined into ahead of 1, 1997 are recognized january,
- Indiana- joined into ahead of 1, 1958 are recognized january,
- Ohio- entered into ahead of October 10, 1991 are recognized,
- Oklahoma – entered into just before November 1, 1998 are recognized, present situation unclear,
- Pennsylvania- entered into just before September 17, 2003 (see PNC Bank Corp. v. W.C.A. B., 831 A.2d 1269 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) or even 1, 2005 (see 2004 House Bill No. 2719) are recognized january.
- (hh) minimal age for common-law wedding determined to be 12; legislature instituted minimum chronilogical age of 18 for marriages begun on or after September 1, 2006
Supply: situated in component for a chart within the global World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac Books, 1999. Entries have now been updated through analysis the statutes and links included to allow consultation that is direct of state statutes.